{
  "status": "final",
  "retrieved": "2026-09-03",
  "method": "Every figure below was read from the program's own website, guidelines PDF, or a federal/state government document on 2026-09-03. Fields that could not be confirmed on an official source are written as 'unverified' and listed in unverified_fields with the reason.",
  "ami_2026": {
    "area": "Houston-The Woodlands-Sugar Land, TX HUD Metro FMR Area (Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, Waller counties)",
    "fiscal_year": "FY 2026",
    "effective": "June 1, 2026",
    "median_family_income": "$104,000",
    "median_family_income_source_note": "HUD FY2026 Section 8 Income Limits PDF (Section8-IncomeLimits-FY26.pdf) prints 'FY 2026 MFI: $104,000' for the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX MSA sub-area page that parsed (Austin County HMFA); the Houston HMFA page itself did not parse cleanly. The $104,000 figure is corroborated by TDHCA's July 13, 2026 limits table and TSAHC's June 13, 2026 limits table, both of which list 100% AMFI for the Houston HMFA counties as $104,000.",
    "limits_by_household_size": {
      "30_percent_extremely_low": {"1": 21850, "2": 25000, "3": 28100, "4": 31200, "5": 33700, "6": 36200, "7": 38700, "8": 41200},
      "50_percent_very_low": {"1": 36400, "2": 41600, "3": 46800, "4": 52000, "5": 56200, "6": 60350, "7": 64500, "8": 68650},
      "80_percent_low": {"1": 58250, "2": 66600, "3": 74900, "4": 83200, "5": 89900, "6": 96550, "7": 103200, "8": 109850}
    },
    "source_urls": [
      "https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/home-datasets/files/HOME_IncomeLmts_State_TX_2026.pdf",
      "https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/il/il26/Section8-IncomeLimits-FY26.pdf",
      "https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/il.html"
    ],
    "notes": "The 80% figures are the 'LOW INCOME' row for the Houston HMFA in HUD's FY2026 HOME income limits (effective June 1, 2026). The same eight numbers appear on the Harris County DAP 2026 fact sheet and the Montgomery County May 2026 flyer. HUD's interactive FY2026 query pages (il2026/2026summary.odn) returned 404 on retrieval, so the PDFs were used."
  },
  "programs": [
    {
      "id": "harris_county_dap",
      "status": "confirmed",
      "name": "Harris County Down Payment Assistance Program (DAP)",
      "administrator": "Harris County Housing and Community Development (HCD), formerly Community Services Department",
      "official_url": "https://hcd.harriscountytx.gov/Residents/Homeownership-Programs/Down-Payment-Assistance",
      "source_urls": [
        "https://hcd.harriscountytx.gov/Residents/Homeownership-Programs/Down-Payment-Assistance",
        "https://hcd.harriscountytx.gov/Portals/hcd/Documents/Down%20Payment%20Assistance/Combine%20DAP%20Fact%20Sheet%20English-Spanish%202026_V3.pdf",
        "https://hcd.harriscountytx.gov/Portals/hcd/Documents/Down%20Payment%20Assistance/DAP%202021%20Guidebook.pdf",
        "https://hcd.harriscountytx.gov/Portals/hcd/Documents/Down%20Payment%20Assistance/DAP%20Participating%20Mortgage%20Lenders%2012.2025.pdf"
      ],
      "retrieved": "2026-09-03",
      "assistance_amount": "Up to $40,000 per qualifying household (PY26, effective November 18, 2025; raised from $23,800). The $40,000 cap includes eligibility incentives: home warranty up to $1,800 (3 years), flood insurance $3,000 (1 year), homeowner insurance with wind/hail up to $5,700 (1 year), elevation certificate up to $500, HOA coverage up to $1,500 (1 year), Harris County title policy $125 to $400. After the maximum incentives, the base award available for down payment, prepaids and closing costs is $27,100. A buyer receives only the amount needed to achieve affordable ownership.",
      "assistance_type": "forgivable second lien",
      "forgiveness_or_repayment": "Silent second mortgage (2nd lien Deed of Trust with Harris County HCD as trustee). Fact sheet: repayment is due only upon default, sale, rental, transfer or refinancing during the affordability period. Period of affordability: awards under $25,000 = 5 years; awards of $25,000 to $40,000 = 10 years.",
      "income_limit": "Annual household income at or below 80% of HUD AMI (HUD June 2026): 1 person $58,250; 2 $66,600; 3 $74,900; 4 $83,200; 5 $89,900; 6 $96,550; 7 $103,200; 8 $109,850. (The English side of the fact sheet prints $96,500 for 6 persons; the Spanish side and HUD's table print $96,550.)",
      "purchase_price_limit": "Pre-existing home $285,000; newly constructed home $296,000",
      "min_credit_score": "580. Front-end ratio max 39%, back-end DTI max 42%. Liquid assets no more than $30,000. Minimum $1,000 buyer contribution.",
      "first_time_buyer_required": true,
      "eligible_areas": "Homes must be in the unincorporated areas of Harris County per the county's service area map (https://experience.arcgis.com/experience/afb875d04a2e4853b11569554d04be73) and in a qualified census tract (population below 200% of median income) per the census tract map (https://experience.arcgis.com/experience/ba5ae3c546ab403bb1dd157646350577). The City of Houston runs its own separate program (see houston_hap). Whether specific small incorporated cities inside Harris County are in the service area must be checked on the map.",
      "eligible_property_types": "Single-family detached, condominium or townhouse (fact sheet); existing or new construction; must meet Harris County Minimum Property Standards",
      "homebuyer_education_required": true,
      "occupancy": "Primary residence for the 5 or 10 year affordability period; U.S. citizen or permanent resident alien",
      "how_to_apply": "Apply through a DAP participating mortgage lender (list published by HCD, 12/2025 version). Contact hcdlendingservices@harriscountytx.gov or 832-927-4955. Complete a HUD-approved 8-hour homeownership education course and a budget worksheet; buyer must secure a first mortgage from a lender and sign the county's second lien.",
      "can_combine_with": "Requires a first mortgage from a financial/mortgage institution; the program page does not list other DPA it may be layered with (unverified)",
      "notes": "HCD states a new DAP Guidebook is being developed; the 2021 Guidebook remains the reference. Program year PY26. The page also links to Harris County Housing Finance Corporation programs (harriscountyhfc.org) as an additional resource.",
      "unverified_fields": ["can_combine_with (not addressed on the page or fact sheet)", "small-city eligibility inside Harris County (service area map only)"]
    },
    {
      "id": "houston_hap",
      "status": "confirmed",
      "name": "City of Houston Homebuyer Assistance Program (HAP)",
      "administrator": "City of Houston Housing and Community Development Department (HCDD)",
      "official_url": "https://houstontx.gov/housing/hap.html",
      "source_urls": [
        "https://houstontx.gov/housing/hap.html",
        "https://houstontx.gov/housing/plans-reports/guidelines/hap/Homebuyer_Assistance_Program_HAP_Guidelines-8.0-Entitlement-072126.pdf"
      ],
      "retrieved": "2026-09-03",
      "assistance_amount": "Up to $75,000, sized to the household's financial need by an internal subsidy layering analysis (Guidelines v8.0, 6/23/2026: 'The current Maximum Subsidy Amount is up to $75,000 based on the financial need of the First-Time Homebuyer').",
      "assistance_type": "forgivable second lien",
      "forgiveness_or_repayment": "No-interest forgivable loan (the 'HAP Loan') secured by a lien, forgiven pro rata each year of continuous owner occupancy. Guidelines v8.0 schedule: assistance up to $50,000 = 5-year period of affordability, forgiven 20% per year (year 1 20%, year 2 40%, year 3 60%, year 4 80%, year 5 100%); assistance of $50,000.01 to $75,000 = 8-year period, forgiven 12.5% per year. Less than 1 year = 0% forgiven. If the buyer sells, transfers, refinances or stops occupying before the period ends, the unforgiven pro rata balance is due. The HAP web page summarizes the term as 5 years; the guidelines add the 8-year tier for awards above $50,000.",
      "income_limit": "Household income at or below 80% of HUD AMI for CDBG-funded assistance (guidelines also allow up to 120% AMI for TIRZ-funded assistance). HUD FY2026 80% AMI for the Houston HMFA: 1 person $58,250; 2 $66,600; 3 $74,900; 4 $83,200; 5 $89,900; 6 $96,550; 7 $103,200; 8 $109,850 (see ami_2026).",
      "purchase_price_limit": "No maximum home price is stated on the HAP page; guidelines require the purchase price not exceed the appraised value. Reasonable closing costs are capped at 6% of purchase price (exception when the buyer pays discount points).",
      "min_credit_score": "None set by the City ('the Homebuyer Assistance Program does not consider credit score'); the first-lien lender's minimums apply. DTI limits: 33% front-end, 45% back-end.",
      "first_time_buyer_required": true,
      "eligible_areas": "Property must be within the City of Houston tax boundaries (city limits). Fifth Ward / Kashmere Gardens area temporarily suspended pending an EPA environmental investigation.",
      "eligible_property_types": "Single-family (1 unit), condominium unit, townhouse, cooperative unit, or manufactured housing permanently affixed to a permanent foundation (Guidelines v8.0, Property Types). Must be the buyer's principal residence.",
      "homebuyer_education_required": true,
      "occupancy": "Owner-occupied principal residence for the full period of affordability (5 or 8 years); U.S. citizen or permanent resident (applicant, co-applicant and spouse)",
      "how_to_apply": "Apply through HCDD's online HAP application; processing takes about six weeks absent delays; pre-approval letters are valid 3 months with no extensions. Requirements: first-time buyer (no ownership in the past 3 years), minimum $350 personal contribution, less than $50,000 in liquid assets at eligibility determination and at closing, homebuyer education certificate from a HUD-approved agency.",
      "can_combine_with": "A fixed-rate first mortgage is required; adjustable-rate and seller-financed mortgages are not permitted. HCDD performs a subsidy layering analysis so the HAP loan does not exceed what is needed; the guidelines reference the Single Family Program Manual for eligible first-mortgage types. Layering with other DPA is not expressly addressed (unverified).",
      "notes": "As of retrieval the HAP page states the program is no longer accepting or processing additional applications because funds are exhausted. Governing document: HAP Guidelines version 8.0 (Entitlement), dated 6/23/2026, filename dated 07/21/26.",
      "unverified_fields": ["can_combine_with other DPA (guidelines defer to the Single Family Program Manual)", "current funding status beyond the page notice"]
    },
    {
      "id": "seth_5_star",
      "status": "confirmed",
      "name": "SETH 5 Star Texas Advantage Program",
      "administrator": "Southeast Texas Housing Finance Corporation (SETH), 11111 S Sam Houston Parkway East, Houston TX 77089, 281-484-4663",
      "official_url": "https://sethfc.com/programs/5-star-texas-advantage/",
      "source_urls": [
        "https://sethfc.com/programs/5-star-texas-advantage/",
        "https://www.seth5star.com/",
        "https://www.seth5star.com/_files/ugd/bc90e4_98d8791253964bd4a2a5eba56472c8a4.pdf",
        "https://www.seth5star.com/_files/ugd/bc90e4_9094a2a352424ce493beef92cca7c3c2.pdf"
      ],
      "retrieved": "2026-09-03",
      "assistance_amount": "Up to 5% of the final loan amount for down payment and closing costs (exact percentage options are set on the lender rate sheet; the public pages state 'maximum assistance is 5%'). Plus a $3,500 grant when the 5 Star loan is combined with the SETH Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) program.",
      "assistance_type": "forgivable second lien or deferred second lien (borrower's choice); the $3,500 MCC-combo amount is a grant",
      "forgiveness_or_repayment": "Assistance is a second loan with no payments. Option 1: 3-year forgivable second lien, forgiven in full after 3 years. Option 2: 30-year deferred payment second lien (in exchange for a lower first-mortgage rate) with no payments and no accrued interest, balance due on sale, refinance, or at the end of the 30-year term. A 'Best Rate' option offers a lower rate with no assistance and no second lien.",
      "income_limit": "Program income limits by county, effective 06/15/2026 (FHA/VA/Fannie/Freddie table). Two tiers: 'Charter' (free homebuyer education and special DPA options) and 'Standard'. Harris, Fort Bend, Montgomery, Brazoria, Galveston, Liberty, Waller, Chambers, Austin and San Jacinto counties: Charter $84,080 / Standard $183,925. A separate income limit PDF applies to USDA loans.",
      "purchase_price_limit": "No maximum sales price",
      "min_credit_score": "640 minimum middle score, a program requirement (not a borrower figure)",
      "first_time_buyer_required": false,
      "eligible_areas": "Statewide Texas except Travis County and the city limits of El Paso, Grand Prairie and McKinney (all Houston-area counties are eligible)",
      "eligible_property_types": "unverified (not listed on the public program pages; program manual governs)",
      "homebuyer_education_required": true,
      "occupancy": "unverified (owner occupancy is standard for the program's FHA/VA/USDA/conventional first liens but is not stated on the public page)",
      "how_to_apply": "Contact a SETH participating lender (list at seth5star.com or sethfc.com Find A Lender). Only one borrower must complete the SETH online homebuyer education course (eHome America, $100; free at Charter income level; certificate valid 12 months). Program lender: rmitchell@sethtexas.com; homebuyers: compliance@sethfc.com.",
      "can_combine_with": "SETH MCC (adds a $3,500 grant). Loan types: 30-year fixed FHA, VA, USDA or conventional.",
      "notes": "Third-party sites still describe SETH 5 Star as a 'grant' program; the official pages now describe the assistance as a second loan (forgivable or deferred). Program page last modified 2026-04-17.",
      "unverified_fields": ["eligible_property_types", "occupancy", "exact DPA percentage tiers (rate-sheet driven; only the 5% maximum is published)"]
    },
    {
      "id": "tsahc_hfa",
      "status": "confirmed",
      "name": "TSAHC Homes for Texas Heroes and Home Sweet Texas Home Loan Programs",
      "administrator": "Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation (TSAHC), Homeownership Hotline 877-508-4611",
      "official_url": "https://www.tsahc.org/homebuyers-renters/loans-down-payment-assistance",
      "source_urls": [
        "https://www.tsahc.org/homebuyers-renters/loans-down-payment-assistance",
        "https://www.tsahc.org/homebuyers-renters/homes-for-texas-heroes-program",
        "https://www.tsahc.org/homebuyers-renters/home-sweet-texas-home-loan-program",
        "https://kb.tsahc.org/39170/kb/article/102806/33-assistance-options-nonbond-dpa-with-or-without-mcc-bond-dpa",
        "https://www.tsahc.org/public/upload/files/general/TSAHC_Combined_Income_Purchase_Price_Limits.pdf",
        "https://www.tsahc.org/public/upload/files/general/H4H_Who_is_Eligible_for_the_Program.pdf"
      ],
      "retrieved": "2026-09-03",
      "assistance_amount": "Borrower chooses 2%, 3%, 4% or 5% of the total loan amount. DPA may fund the full cash to close: down payment, closing costs, prepaid items and related loan fees. Cannot be used to pay down debts or reduce first-lien principal.",
      "assistance_type": "grant or forgivable second lien (borrower's choice)",
      "forgiveness_or_repayment": "Grant: no second lien; does not need to be repaid as long as the first-lien mortgage is not refinanced or paid off within six months of closing; available only with government loans (FHA/VA/USDA). 3-year deferred forgivable second lien: 0% interest, no monthly payments, forgiven in full on the third anniversary of the note; repayable in full if the home is sold, transferred, refinanced, the first lien is paid off, or the borrower stops occupying it within the 3 years; available with all loan types including HFA conventional.",
      "income_limit": "By county (TSAHC Income and Purchase Price Limits table, effective June 13, 2026; Homes for Texas Heroes DPA-only limits effective July 9, 2026). Houston area, DPA-only: Home Sweet Texas (150% AMI) $156,000 and Homes for Texas Heroes (170% AMI) $176,800 for Harris, Fort Bend, Montgomery, Galveston, Chambers, Liberty and Waller counties; Brazoria County $189,000 / $214,200. Conventional loans at or below 80% AMFI use $84,080 (Harris and the other Houston HMFA counties). Any household size. Bond/MCC loans use separate 1-2 person / 3+ person limits (Harris: $104,000 / $119,600 non-targeted; $124,800 / $145,600 targeted).",
      "purchase_price_limit": "No purchase price limit is printed for DPA-only (non-bond) loans in the limits table. Bond and MCC loans: $566,354.70 non-targeted / $692,211.30 targeted (Harris County and most Houston-area counties).",
      "min_credit_score": "620 for government loans (grant or second lien); 640 for HFA conventional loans with the second lien",
      "first_time_buyer_required": false,
      "eligible_areas": "Statewide Texas",
      "eligible_property_types": "unverified (not stated on the consumer pages; lender guideline 4.2 governs)",
      "homebuyer_education_required": true,
      "occupancy": "Principal residence (second lien is due if the borrower fails to occupy the property as principal residence)",
      "how_to_apply": "Take TSAHC's online Eligibility Quiz, then apply through a TSAHC participating lender; nothing is submitted directly to TSAHC. Approved homebuyer education course required before closing. Heroes professions: full-time public school teachers, teacher aides, librarians, counselors and nurses; police and public security officers; firefighters and EMS; veterans or active military; corrections and juvenile corrections officers; nursing and allied health faculty.",
      "can_combine_with": "TSAHC Mortgage Credit Certificate (first-time buyers only; MCC is free, a $500 savings, for Texas Heroes who use it with DPA). Non-bond DPA may be combined with an MCC; bond DPA may not. Loan types: FHA, VA, USDA (RHS), Fannie Mae HFA Preferred and Freddie Mac HFA Advantage conventional.",
      "notes": "Both programs offer identical DPA options; the Heroes program has higher income limits (170% AMI) and the free MCC. The TSAHC consumer pages say 'credit score of 620'; the 640 figure applies to conventional second-lien loans per lender guideline 3.3.",
      "unverified_fields": ["eligible_property_types", "whether any purchase price cap applies to DPA-only loans (none printed in the limits table)"]
    },
    {
      "id": "fort_bend_dpa",
      "status": "confirmed_partial",
      "name": "Fort Bend County Housing Finance Corporation Down Payment Assistance",
      "administrator": "Fort Bend County Housing Finance Corporation; program administered by Covenant Community Capital (Sonia Aldrett, Financial Services Coordinator, Sonia@CovenantCapital.org, 713-383-7273)",
      "official_url": "https://fortbendhousing.com/",
      "source_urls": [
        "https://fortbendhousing.com/",
        "https://www.covenantcapital.org/",
        "https://www.fortbendcountytx.gov/government/departments/county-services/community-development/programs/home-investment-partnerships"
      ],
      "retrieved": "2026-09-03",
      "assistance_amount": "$10,000 in down payment assistance to qualified homebuyers, first come first served, approved for 2026; the program expires once funds are committed",
      "assistance_type": "unverified (the FBCHFC site does not state whether it is a grant or a lien)",
      "forgiveness_or_repayment": "unverified (not published on fortbendhousing.com; a February 2025 Houston Public Media report described it as repayable on sale, refinance or transfer, but that is not an official source)",
      "income_limit": "unverified (not published on fortbendhousing.com; the same 2025 news report cited 120% of area median income)",
      "purchase_price_limit": "unverified",
      "min_credit_score": "unverified",
      "first_time_buyer_required": true,
      "eligible_areas": "Homes in Fort Bend County",
      "eligible_property_types": "unverified",
      "homebuyer_education_required": "unverified",
      "occupancy": "unverified",
      "how_to_apply": "Have your lender contact the program administrator at Covenant Community Capital (713-383-7273, Sonia@CovenantCapital.org). 'Conditions apply. Contact the program administrator for details.'",
      "can_combine_with": "unverified",
      "notes": "Other Fort Bend sources checked: Fort Bend County Community Development's HOME Investment Partnerships page lists 'assistance to first-time homebuyers' as an eligible activity with PY2026 RFPs posted, but no consumer-facing county DPA program terms are published (281-342-3411). Searches of the official city domains for Missouri City (missouricitytx.gov), Sugar Land (sugarlandtx.gov) and Rosenberg (rosenbergtx.gov) found no city-run down payment assistance program in 2026. Buyers in these cities can use SETH 5 Star, TSAHC and TDHCA statewide programs.",
      "unverified_fields": ["assistance_type", "forgiveness_or_repayment", "income_limit", "purchase_price_limit", "min_credit_score", "eligible_property_types", "homebuyer_education_required", "occupancy", "can_combine_with"]
    },
    {
      "id": "montgomery_dpa",
      "status": "confirmed",
      "name": "Montgomery County Down Payment Assistance Program (HOME Direct Homebuyer Subsidy)",
      "administrator": "Montgomery County Community Development (HOME funds); administered by Easter Seals Greater Houston (HUD-certified housing counseling agency), 832-808-6244, housing@eastersealshouston.org",
      "official_url": "https://eastersealshouston.org/housing-montgomery-county/",
      "source_urls": [
        "https://eastersealshouston.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/05/2026-MCDP-program-flyer-1.pdf",
        "https://eastersealshouston.org/housing-montgomery-county/",
        "https://www.mctx.org/departments/departments_a_-_c/community_development/community_resources.php"
      ],
      "retrieved": "2026-09-03",
      "assistance_amount": "Up to $12,600 per household (direct HOME subsidy), May 2026 flyer; contingent on availability of funds. Covers down payment, closing costs and prepaids; no cash back to the borrower at closing.",
      "assistance_type": "unverified (the flyer calls it a 'Direct Home Subsidy'; whether it is a grant or a forgivable lien, and any affordability period, is not stated)",
      "forgiveness_or_repayment": "unverified (HOME-funded homebuyer subsidies normally carry a recapture period, but the flyer does not state one)",
      "income_limit": "Below 80% of Area Median Income. Flyer table (80% AMI): 1 person $58,250; 2 $66,600; 3 $74,900; 4 $83,200; 5 $89,900; 6 $96,550; 7 $103,200; 8 $109,850",
      "purchase_price_limit": "$282,000 pre-existing home; $292,000 new home",
      "min_credit_score": "unverified (not on the flyer). Housing debt-to-income ratio 43% (mortgage payment plus monthly fixed scheduled debt). Minimum average cash assets of $500.",
      "first_time_buyer_required": true,
      "eligible_areas": "Montgomery County outside the city limits of Conroe (property must not pay City of Conroe taxes)",
      "eligible_property_types": "Homes passing an HQS inspection (at program expense); homes built before 1978 fail if deteriorated paint is found; double-wide manufactured homes not older than 15 years allowed",
      "homebuyer_education_required": true,
      "occupancy": "unverified (owner occupancy implied by the HOME program; not stated on the flyer). Applicant must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident alien.",
      "how_to_apply": "Contact Easter Seals Greater Houston (832-808-6244, housing@eastersealshouston.org); qualify for a 30-year fixed-rate FHA, conventional, USDA or VA first mortgage; complete a HUD-approved homebuyer education class; have not owned a home in the last 3 years.",
      "can_combine_with": "30-year fixed FHA, conventional, USDA or VA first mortgages; layering with other DPA not addressed (unverified)",
      "notes": "Montgomery County's Community Development page links to the county's 'HOME DPA' flyer (mctx.org, 2025-2026 version) and names Easter Seals as the administrator. No City of Conroe down payment assistance program was found on an official Conroe source in 2026; Conroe addresses are excluded from the county program.",
      "unverified_fields": ["assistance_type", "forgiveness_or_repayment", "min_credit_score", "occupancy", "can_combine_with"]
    },
    {
      "id": "tdhca_my_first_texas_home",
      "status": "confirmed",
      "name": "TDHCA My First Texas Home and My Choice Texas Home (The Texas Homebuyer Program)",
      "administrator": "Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (TDHCA), txhomebuyer@tdhca.texas.gov",
      "official_url": "https://welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov/programs",
      "source_urls": [
        "https://welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov/programs",
        "https://welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov/programs/my-first-texas-home",
        "https://welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov/uploads/My-First-Texas-Home-Program-Matrix-TMS.pdf",
        "https://welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov/uploads/My-Choice-Texas-Home-Program-Matrix-TMS.pdf",
        "https://welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov/uploads/Limits.pdf",
        "https://welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov/uploads/transitional-content/tdhca-homebuyer-programs-121025.pdf"
      ],
      "retrieved": "2026-09-03",
      "assistance_amount": "2% to 5% of the total loan amount, funding permitting (both programs), for down payment and closing costs. No excess cash back to the borrower; any excess goes to principal reduction.",
      "assistance_type": "forgivable second lien or deferred (repayable on sale) second lien, borrower's choice",
      "forgiveness_or_repayment": "Option A, 3-Year Deferred Forgivable DPA: 0% interest, no monthly payments, fully forgiven after 36 months if the first lien is current and the home remains the principal residence; due in full on sale, refinance or payoff of the first lien before then. Option B, 30-Year Deferred Repayable DPA: 0% interest, no required monthly payments (voluntary payments allowed), due in full on sale, refinance, transfer or payoff of the first lien; no prepayment penalty; no costs other than recording fees. Program matrices published August 17, 2026.",
      "income_limit": "Limits effective July 13, 2026 (Limits.pdf). My First Texas Home, Houston-The Woodlands-Sugar Land HMFA (Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, Waller): non-targeted $104,000 (1-2 persons) / $119,600 (3+ persons); targeted census tracts $124,800 / $145,600. Brazoria County: $126,000 / $144,900 (no targeted tracts). Household income of everyone signing the Deed of Trust, including a non-purchasing spouse. My Choice Texas Home, same counties: government loans (FHA/VA/USDA) $176,800 (170% AMFI, any family size); conventional HFA Preferred/HFA Advantage: $84,080 for the at-or-below-80% AMI option, $178,670 for the over-80% AMI option; Brazoria government loans $214,200. My Choice counts only 1003 qualifying income of the borrowers.",
      "purchase_price_limit": "My First Texas Home (1-unit): $566,354 non-targeted / $692,211 targeted for the Houston HMFA counties and Brazoria; 2-unit: $725,146 / $886,289. My Choice Texas Home: no purchase price limits (follow agency guidelines).",
      "min_credit_score": "620 minimum middle FICO (both programs). DTI per AUS findings; manual underwriting (FHA/VA/USDA) capped at 45% DTI; conventional manual underwriting not accepted.",
      "first_time_buyer_required": "My First Texas Home: true (no ownership of a primary residence in the last 3 years; exemptions for qualified honorably discharged veterans with DD-214 and for homes in a Qualified Targeted Census Tract). My Choice Texas Home: false.",
      "eligible_areas": "Statewide Texas; a Texas Residency Affidavit is executed at closing (My First)",
      "eligible_property_types": "New or existing single-family homes, condominiums, PUDs; manufactured homes (single or double wide, must be real property by loan purchase; 0.50% MHU funding fee); duplexes if one unit is owner-occupied and the property has been residential 5+ years (waived in targeted tracts)",
      "homebuyer_education_required": true,
      "occupancy": "All borrowers must occupy as principal residence within 60 days of closing",
      "how_to_apply": "Through a TDHCA Approved Loan Officer (participating lender list at welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov/participating-lenders). Every borrower completes a pre-purchase HUD-certified homebuyer education course. Non-occupying co-signers allowed (not on title).",
      "can_combine_with": "Texas Mortgage Credit Certificate (MCC) combo for first-time buyers (issuance fee $400); the un-assisted bond-only first lien cannot be combined with an MCC. TDHCA also partners with local housing finance corporations for additional gift funds in certain counties (see welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov/additional-grant-down-payment-assistance). Loan types: FHA, VA, USDA 30-year fixed (My First); plus Fannie Mae HFA Preferred and Freddie Mac HFA Advantage (My Choice).",
      "notes": "My First Texas Home may be subject to federal recapture tax; My Choice is not. Program fees netted at purchase: funding fee $319, tax service $80, compliance review $225.",
      "unverified_fields": []
    },
    {
      "id": "closing_cost_help",
      "status": "confirmed",
      "name": "Closing cost help: seller concessions, lender credits and DPA",
      "administrator": "HUD/FHA, Fannie Mae, VA (rules); DPA programs (funds)",
      "official_url": "https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/housing/sfh/handbook_4000-1",
      "source_urls": [
        "https://www.hud.gov/sites/dfiles/OCHCO/documents/4000.1hsgh.pdf",
        "https://selling-guide.fanniemae.com/sel/b3-4.1-02/interested-party-contributions-ipcs",
        "https://www.knowva.ebenefits.va.gov/system/templates/selfservice/va_ssnew/help/customer/locale/en-US/portal/554400000001018/content/554400000314677/VA-Pamphlet-VAP26-7-Chapter-08-Borrower-Fees-and-Charges-and-the-VA-Funding-Fee",
        "https://www.benefits.va.gov/HOMELOANS/documents/docs/VA_Buyers_Guide.pdf",
        "https://kb.tsahc.org/39170/kb/article/102806/33-assistance-options-nonbond-dpa-with-or-without-mcc-bond-dpa",
        "https://welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov/uploads/My-First-Texas-Home-Program-Matrix-TMS.pdf"
      ],
      "retrieved": "2026-09-03",
      "assistance_amount": "FHA (HUD Handbook 4000.1, Interested Party Contributions): interested parties (sellers, agents, builders, developers, lenders, TPOs) may contribute up to 6% of the sales price toward the borrower's origination fees, other closing costs, prepaid items and discount points; the 6% includes permanent and temporary buydowns, mortgage interest payments, payment protection insurance and payment of UFMIP. Contributions above 6% (or above actual costs) are inducements to purchase that reduce the adjusted value dollar for dollar. IPCs may not be used for the borrower's minimum required investment (3.5%). Conventional (Fannie Mae Selling Guide B3-4.1-02, updated 05/07/2025): maximum IPCs for a principal residence or second home are 3% with LTV/CLTV above 90%, 6% at 75.01% to 90%, and 9% at 75% or below; investment property 2% at any LTV; based on the lesser of sales price or appraised value; IPCs may pay closing costs, prepaids and up to 12 months of HOA dues but not the down payment, reserves or minimum borrower contribution. VA (Lenders Handbook Pamphlet 26-7, Chapter 8): seller concessions may not exceed 4% of the established reasonable value; concessions include the seller paying the VA funding fee, prepaying taxes and insurance, gifts, extra points for a permanent buydown, escrowed funds for a temporary buydown, and paying off the buyer's credit balances or judgments; the seller paying the buyer's normal closing costs and market-rate discount points does NOT count toward the 4%.",
      "assistance_type": "seller concessions, lender credits, DPA applied to closing costs",
      "forgiveness_or_repayment": "Seller concessions and lender credits are not repaid. DPA used for closing costs follows the DPA program's own terms (grant, forgivable lien or deferred lien).",
      "income_limit": "Not applicable to seller concessions or lender credits; DPA program income limits apply to DPA funds",
      "purchase_price_limit": "Not applicable",
      "min_credit_score": "Not applicable",
      "first_time_buyer_required": false,
      "eligible_areas": "Nationwide rules",
      "eligible_property_types": "Per loan program",
      "homebuyer_education_required": false,
      "occupancy": "Conventional IPC caps differ by occupancy (2% for investment property)",
      "how_to_apply": "Negotiate seller-paid costs in the purchase contract within the loan type's cap; ask the lender about premium-pricing lender credits; reserve DPA through the DPA program's participating lender.",
      "can_combine_with": "DPA funds can pay closing costs and prepaids under the programs researched: TSAHC DPA may fund up to 100% of cash to close including closing costs and prepaids; TDHCA DPA (2% to 5%) is for down payment and closing costs with no cash back; Harris County DAP base award covers down payment, prepaids and closing costs; Montgomery County's subsidy covers down payment, closing costs and prepaids; Houston HAP caps reasonable closing costs at 6% of the purchase price.",
      "notes": "Lender credits: HUD 4000.1 excludes premium-pricing credits from the lender or TPO from the 6% cap when the lender is not also the seller, agent, builder or developer. The FHA text quoted was read from the 4000.1 PDF posted at hud.gov (Last Revised 08/14/2019 edition of the section); the online handbook is the controlling current version and the 6% standard is unchanged in it as of the handbook landing page.",
      "unverified_fields": ["Fannie Mae treatment of lender premium-pricing credits (not read in the B3-4.1-02 excerpt retrieved)", "current 4000.1 edition date (handbook landing page did not expose it)"]
    },
    {
      "id": "usda_texas",
      "status": "confirmed",
      "name": "USDA Rural Development Section 502 Single Family Housing Guaranteed Loan Program (Texas)",
      "administrator": "USDA Rural Development, Rural Housing Service; loans made by USDA-approved lenders",
      "official_url": "https://www.rd.usda.gov/programs-services/single-family-housing-programs/single-family-housing-guaranteed-loan-program",
      "source_urls": [
        "https://www.rd.usda.gov/programs-services/single-family-housing-programs/single-family-housing-guaranteed-loan-program",
        "https://www.rd.usda.gov/files/rd-grhlimitmap.pdf",
        "https://eligibility.sc.egov.usda.gov/eligibility/welcomeAction.do?pageAction=sfp",
        "https://eligibility.sc.egov.usda.gov/eligibility/incomeEligibilityAction.do?pageAction=state"
      ],
      "retrieved": "2026-09-03",
      "assistance_amount": "100% financing (no down payment) with a 90% loan note guarantee to the lender. Closing costs and reasonable customary expenses may be included in the transaction (financed up to the appraised value per lender guidelines).",
      "assistance_type": "zero-down guaranteed first mortgage (not a DPA program)",
      "forgiveness_or_repayment": "30-year fixed-rate first mortgage, rate set by the lender; guarantee fees apply (amounts not published on the program page; unverified here)",
      "income_limit": "Household income may not exceed 115% of area median household income. HB-1-3555 Appendix 5, FY2026 Guaranteed Housing Program Income Limits ('MOD. INC-GUAR. LOAN'): Houston-The Woodlands-Sugar Land, TX HUD Metro FMR Area (Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Montgomery, Waller) $122,800 for 1 to 4 persons and $162,100 for 5 to 8 persons; Austin County HMFA $122,800 / $162,100; Brazoria County HMFA $144,900 / $191,300. Add 8% of the 4-person limit for each person over 8. Moderate income is defined as the greater of 115% of the U.S. median family income, 115% of the average of state-wide and state non-metro medians, or 115/80ths of the area low-income limit.",
      "purchase_price_limit": "None; the home must be modest and the borrower must qualify (no set acreage limits)",
      "min_credit_score": "No program credit score requirement (applicants must show willingness and ability to manage debt); lenders apply their own overlays",
      "first_time_buyer_required": false,
      "eligible_areas": "Eligible rural areas as determined address by address on the USDA property eligibility map. The map, not a county list, is the official authority; the Houston-area counties named in the request (parts of Montgomery, Waller, Brazoria, Liberty and others) contain both eligible and ineligible areas and each address must be checked (specific boundaries unverified from a static official document).",
      "eligible_property_types": "New or existing detached, attached, condominiums, PUDs, modular and manufactured homes used as a permanent residence; not income-producing; site with new or existing dwelling; repairs and rehab with the purchase; essential household equipment conveyed with the home",
      "homebuyer_education_required": false,
      "occupancy": "Must personally occupy the dwelling as primary residence; U.S. citizen, U.S. non-citizen national or qualified alien",
      "how_to_apply": "Through a USDA-approved lender (active lender list at rd.usda.gov/resources/lenders); applications accepted on an ongoing basis October 1 to September 30. Governed by 7 CFR Part 3555 and Technical Handbook HB-1-3555.",
      "can_combine_with": "SETH 5 Star (USDA loan option with its own USDA income table), TSAHC DPA (RHS loans eligible for grant or second lien), TDHCA My First / My Choice (USDA 30-year fixed)",
      "notes": "The FY2026 Appendix 5 PDF table parsed with area labels offset by one row; the Houston HMFA figures above were matched by their very-low (52,000) and low-income (83,200) companion rows, which equal HUD's Houston HMFA figures. The program page was last modified 2026-06-22.",
      "unverified_fields": ["guarantee fee amounts (not on the program page)", "effective date printed on the FY2026 income limit PDF (not extractable; a search snippet dates it July 13, 2026)", "county-level eligible area boundaries (map only)"]
    },
    {
      "id": "grants_vs_second_liens",
      "status": "confirmed",
      "name": "Explainer: grant vs forgivable second lien vs deferred second lien vs repayable second lien",
      "administrator": "Not applicable (explainer citing program documents)",
      "official_url": "https://kb.tsahc.org/39170/kb/article/102806/33-assistance-options-nonbond-dpa-with-or-without-mcc-bond-dpa",
      "source_urls": [
        "https://kb.tsahc.org/39170/kb/article/102806/33-assistance-options-nonbond-dpa-with-or-without-mcc-bond-dpa",
        "https://welcomehome.tdhca.texas.gov/uploads/My-First-Texas-Home-Program-Matrix-TMS.pdf",
        "https://houstontx.gov/housing/plans-reports/guidelines/hap/Homebuyer_Assistance_Program_HAP_Guidelines-8.0-Entitlement-072126.pdf",
        "https://hcd.harriscountytx.gov/Portals/hcd/Documents/Down%20Payment%20Assistance/Combine%20DAP%20Fact%20Sheet%20English-Spanish%202026_V3.pdf",
        "https://www.seth5star.com/"
      ],
      "retrieved": "2026-09-03",
      "assistance_amount": "Grant: money given at closing with no lien and no repayment (TSAHC DPA grant: 2% to 5% of the loan amount, no second lien, not repaid unless the first lien is refinanced or paid off within six months of closing). Forgivable second lien: a recorded 0% second mortgage that is forgiven over time or at a maturity date and only repaid if you sell, refinance, transfer or move out early (TDHCA 3-Year Deferred Forgivable DPA forgiven after 36 months; City of Houston HAP forgiven pro rata 20% per year over 5 years for awards up to $50,000 and 12.5% per year over 8 years for $50,000.01 to $75,000; Harris County DAP forgivable second lien with a 5- or 10-year affordability period; TSAHC 3-year deferred forgivable second lien). Deferred second lien: a 0% second mortgage with no monthly payments that is never forgiven and comes due in full when you sell, refinance, transfer or pay off the first lien, or at the end of its term (TDHCA 30-Year Deferred Repayable DPA; SETH 5 Star 30-year deferred payment option, balance due on sale, refinance or at the end of 30 years). Repayable second lien: a second mortgage with scheduled monthly principal and interest payments; none of the Houston-area programs researched here uses an amortizing repayable second lien, so no official Houston-area example is cited (unverified).",
      "assistance_type": "explainer",
      "forgiveness_or_repayment": "Grant: none. Forgivable lien: forgiven on schedule, repaid only on early sale/refinance/move-out. Deferred lien: repaid in full on sale/refinance/payoff/term end, no interest, no payments. Repayable lien: monthly payments.",
      "income_limit": "Per program",
      "purchase_price_limit": "Per program",
      "min_credit_score": "Per program",
      "first_time_buyer_required": "unverified",
      "eligible_areas": "Per program",
      "eligible_property_types": "Per program",
      "homebuyer_education_required": true,
      "occupancy": "All four structures require the home to be the buyer's principal residence during the assistance term",
      "how_to_apply": "Through the program's participating lender",
      "can_combine_with": "Per program",
      "notes": "Practical differences for a buyer: a grant is the only structure that never has to be repaid; forgivable and deferred liens are recorded and must be paid off (deferred) or partially repaid (forgivable, if early) when the home is sold or refinanced; rate trade-offs apply (SETH and TSAHC price grants and forgivable liens differently from deferred liens).",
      "unverified_fields": ["official Houston-area example of an amortizing repayable second lien (none found among the researched programs)"]
    }
  ]
}
